Beauty Review: Benefit Primer/Highlighter Set!


I was incredibly excited when I found this on ASOS as I don’t think that they do it on the Benefit website (www.benefitcosmetics.co.uk). You get the ‘That Gal primer for £21.50 (same pricing as Benefit) but they also include sample sizes of both Porefessional and Sun Beam. So you’re getting a lot more for your money PLUS it’s free delivery. I also used my student discount so I think I got this set for around £19.35 – bargain! I was ridiculously excited for it arriving, and I wasn’t disappointed.

It came in the cutest little box which made me stupidly happy! You can tell I’ve never ordered from the Benefit website before, I’m like a little kid! But gift boxes do really make me feel special.  I’m going to skip talking about the Porefessional – on my very first post (What’s in my Make-up Bag, linked here if you fancy a read) I talked about this a little, as I do think it smooths out my pores quite well. This coming with the set didn’t really discourage me though – I’ve almost run out of my full size tube so I figured that this would put off buying another for a little while!

I’ve been dying to get this for  a long time now and I’m glad to say it doesn’t disappoint. It’s appearance reminds me a little of the ‘Girl Meets Pearl’ highlighter and I love the silky feel it gives my skin. I feel like I could even use this on its own to brighten my complexion a little on the (many) days I don’t want to put loads of foundation on. The only time I’ve tried it I did have to use the Porefesesional around my nose to take away any shine, but they do complement each other because they’re both so lightweight.

I hadn’t heard much about Sun Beam before I bought it but I’m a complete convert! I have the sample size Girl Meets Pearl which has lasted me pretty well so far, and also the YSL Touche Eclat stick, but I think this could work out even better. The sample size looks pretty small but (as with all Benefit products) it seems like you get loads of product so it will really last. I blended this down the bridge of my nose, along my cheekbones and under each brow. It gave me a really lovely subtle glow: I actually much preferred this colour to the more pink shimmer of Girl Meets Pearl or High Beam. The more gold-bronze colour highlights what is left of my holiday tan, and when this runs out I’ll definitely be purchasing a full sized bottle. After getting this set for That Gal, I actually think Sun Beam is going to be the standout product for me!

I hope you enjoyed this! It’s a little different for me, but I’ve been crazy for make up recently! I also bought an Illamasqua eyeshadow at the same time as this, so if you guys enjoyed it I’ll be back reviewing that too! I’m also loving the look of the Urban Decay ‘Smoked’ Palette so if any of you have it and would like to recommend it, let me know! Thanks for reading!

One thought on “Beauty Review: Benefit Primer/Highlighter Set!

Reply - Give me food for thought!

